Birth Preparation Classes

You and your partner will feel more prepared for the birth of your baby by taking this informative class. English and Spanish classes are available. This class provides parents with information about labor, delivery, medications and Cesarean births. Couples receive training in breathing techniques to effectively relax more during labor. The post-partum period and care of the newborn are also discussed. Videos, group discussions, and interactive games are used to enhance the learning experience.

Couples will tour the Family Care Center at Beloit Hospital to become familiar with the environment. Couples should plan to begin this class during the 7th and 8th month of pregnancy when possible. 

Pre-registration is strongly advised, but those who need to join a class already in progress may do so. Course materials and refreshments are provided. Please call the Family Care Center at 608-364-5237 to pre-register.

Classes are free for couples delivering at Beloit Hospital and $25 for those delivering elsewhere. Fees are payable at the first class.

Evening class sessions are four weeks in length. Saturday morning classes are two sessions in length. All classes are held at Beloit Hospital.

Class dates are as follows:

ENGLISH: Mondays from 6:30–8:30 pm (four classes)

Start Date: March 6, April 3, May 1, June 5, July 10, August 7, September 11, or October 30.

Saturdays from 9 am–12 Noon (two classes)

Start Date: March 18, May 13, July 15, August 26, or November 11.

SPANISH: Thursdays from 6:30–8:30 pm (four classes)

Start Date: April 6, June 8, August 10, October 5, or December 7.

 

Event Times

Monday, April 3, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Thursday, April 6, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Monday, May 1, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Saturday, May 13, 2017

  • 9:00am - 12:00pm

Monday, June 5, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Thursday, June 8, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Monday, July 10, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Saturday, July 15, 2017

  • 9:00am - 12:00pm

Monday, August 7, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Thursday, August 10, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Saturday, August 26, 2017

  • 9:00am - 12:00pm

Monday, September 11, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Thursday, October 5, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Monday, October 30, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Saturday, November 11, 2017

  • 9:00am - 12:00pm

Thursday, December 7, 2017

  • 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Upcoming Events (view all)

2017-04-03

You and your partner will feel more prepared for the birth of your baby by taking this informative class. English and Sp... | More

2017-04-03

Grief is Never Easy, But You Don't Have to Go Through it Alone Grief is a natural reaction to loss of someone or ... | More

2017-04-05

Prepare the way for a successful breastfeeding experience by attending this class before you have your baby, or attend a... | More

2017-04-06

You and your partner will feel more prepared for the birth of your baby by taking this informative class. English and Sp... | More